Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

My Market skirt Is Finally Finished! April 26, 2010

Filed under: Sewing and Crafts — katieosborne @ 8:20 pm
Tags: , ,

100_5092It took me a month, but I finally finished my Saturday Market Skirt, and I really love it. One would think that the cutting would be the time consuming part, but gathering and arranging each tier took me a few hours, I would guess, if I were to add up my bits of time. Making sure like fabrics and colors were not stacked on top of each other nearly drove me mad a couple times! But it’s done, and yay!, it is super comfy, and cute (if I do say so myself), and it fits me perfectly.

I made a medium, and followed the instructions exactly, except I added a half inch to the waist pieces for a bit more ease. My measurements are 27.5” and 37.5”, for anyone trying to determine what size to make. It would have fit without the extra room, but I may have had to tug a bit over my hips. I also made a facing instead of using interfacing, because I didn’t have enough and didn’t get to the store. I did use interfacing to stabilize the button holes.

I could seriously wear this every day. Seriously. I’m hoping I’ll have time to make another before summer is gone. Though, I suppose I should make one for Bridger-Boo before I get too greedy with my sewing time. I’m thinking lots of pinks and greens and blues from Sandi’s fabrics.

Thank you, Sandi Henderson, for your generosity!

100_5066

 

6 Responses to “My Market skirt Is Finally Finished!”

  1. Darlene Says:

    I love this!! My daughter will too. I think she may make this to enter in the fair this coming August. 🙂 I am amazed at all you do. What a wonderful example you are.

    • katieosborne Says:

      Thank you for the encouragement! I often feel like a failure…like there are so many things I don’t do or neglect, so the encouragement is uplifting.

      • Darlene Says:

        Oh, no, no, no. You are awesome! Truly! There are only so many hours in the day and so many days in the week. Even with your using them all up, it still leaves me wondering how you’re getting so much done. When I read through your blog, I cannot help but think of the Proverbs 31 woman. Please don’t feel like a failure — you are the opposite of that.

        PS My daughter does want to make this skirt. I knew she would. 🙂 Thank you so much!

  2. Darlene Says:

    I just wanted to let you know that my daughter made the skirt for the fair and won judge’s choice. 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing. You’re very inspiring!

  3. katieosborne Says:

    That’s awesome! She must have been so excited!


Leave a comment