Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Rethinking January 4, 2008

Filed under: Business — katieosborne @ 6:53 pm

I’ve been hard at work with the testing process for my new mei tais, and I’ve been conversing with other vendors regarding what it takes to run a business. After much consideration, I’ve concluded that it’s not the right time. The main deterrent is that I really need to have product liability insurance in order to avoid any possible lawsuits from misuse or product malfunction. The chances are so incredibly low that I would ever be sued – I thought an LLC would be fine – but it’s just not worth the risk, and insurance would run me $8,000-$10,000 a year! I would have to take this on as a major venture, hire seamstresses and sell a lot of carriers. I just can’t commit to that right now. As it is,  at times, I already feel that I’m putting my family and home second when I need to get sewing done, and it is not worth it. The stress isn’t worth it.

 I’ve decided to continue testing so that I have a finished product, and I plan to create mei tais on my own time, which I will sell on thebabywearer.com for now. I feel it is a safe community with experienced wearers who know better than to sue a WAHM. That way I can work when I want and make a little extra money for building my fabric stash or whatever.

I love to sew, and I have had no time to sew for myself, so I really am looking forward to this change, even though I didn’t want to let the business go. I think largely, I like the idea of the business. I like to be able to say that I own a little business and make a great product, but I don’t know if I really have the necessary drive and desire to make a long term commitment to such a huge undertaking.

Overall, I feel really good about this, and who knows what the future holds.

 

Leave a Reply

