Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Jonas’ Last MT January 22, 2008

Filed under: Family Life,Sewing and Crafts — katieosborne @ 2:28 pm
Tags: ,

Yes, I’m coming to terms with the fact that Jonas is growing up, and he really doesn’t want to be worn anymore. I miss it, but I also want to respect his desire for more independence. He’s a busy boy, and he doesn’t have time to be strapped to mom’s back these days. There are many children who continue to be worn frequently all through toddlerhood, but apparently, Jonas is not one of those children, and that’s okay with me, even though I do wish he wouldn’t run away when he sees me with a carrier!

So, this is the last carrier I am making for him. I wanted to experiment with a padded waist since I’ll be adding that feature to my tester mei tais. I figured this would be a good opportunity to make a snuggly warm winter carrier for our youth group’s winter camp this weekend.

The interior is a shaggy, soft rosettes minkee, and the exterior is the leftovers from the bag I made Ali for Christmas. It’s a Japanese import that I just adore. I would have like to use the same fabric on the hood as the body, but I didn’t have enough, so I went with the coordinating fabric. I also experimented with a slightly different body shape, and I have to say, it is absolutely perfect for us right now. I wish I had an excuse to make a couple more!

Here it is laid out:

I actually coaxed him in for a couple quick minutes this weekend to see how it fit. (Yeah, he’s getting a little tall for a front carry)!:

 

3 Responses to “Jonas’ Last MT”

  1. Susie Says:

    Lovely mei tai! Fab!

  2. oh this is gorgeous! i am about to embark on sewing my first mei tai. you are a great inspiration! too bad jonas is getting to old to enjoy riding around. i would ride around FOREVER in a carrier, if given the choice! lol

    question: when you mention making “testers”, what do you mean? cheers, renee

  3. katieosborne Says:

    Thanks Renee!

    I know. I always think, I wish someone would carry ME around in one of these. 🙂

    Regarding testers: I have my own design that I developed and I am in the process of testing them with moms who are experienced babywearers so that they can give me feedback with the ultimate goal of selling them as a business. The testers are sold at a discounted price from what I plan to retail them.

    I have a business blog at ariababy.wordpress.com.


Leave a Reply

