Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Carrier Fairy Gift February 27, 2008

Filed under: Sewing and Crafts — katieosborne @ 6:02 pm
Tags: ,

Some of the mamas on The Babywearer who sew play a Secret Santa type game called DIY Carrier Fairy. Everyone makes a carrier for someone else in the game.

Here is the mei tai I made for my mama:

P2270003 P2270006 P2270005 P2270002

I wish I would have set the elephants about an inch higher. As you can see in the last picture, you can’t quite see the full applique when you’re wearing it. I always have to throw Jonas on my back quickly though, because he protests being worn nowadays, so if I took more time, I might have been able to get him seated a little deeper which would place the elephants a little higher on his back.

Overall, I’m pleased with it. There are a couple spots on the waistband on the striped side where the fabric got pushed along because of the thickness of the padding, but I was afraid to undo it and chance ripping into the fabric. Ah well. It’s not very noticeable.

I almost always have Jonas model the carriers before sending them out the door. This is always a quick up and down affair because, as I said, he doesn’t like being worn much anymore. Today though, once he was on, he was actually content back there for ten minutes, maybe more. Wow; a breakthrough?

I look forward to warmer weather when we can start hiking more often. He likes being worn on hikes. I miss carrying him.

 

2 Responses to “Carrier Fairy Gift”

  1. erika Says:

    I love you mei-tais! Do you have a pattern or tutorial I can use to sew myself one?

  2. katieosborne Says:

    Thanks! I don’t, but there are a lot of online tutes you can search for. http://www.thebabywearer.com has a diy forum where you can get a lot of inspiration.


Leave a Reply

