Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Back To The Acupuncturist April 15, 2008

Filed under: Pregnancy and Childbirth — katieosborne @ 1:17 am
Tags: ,

I have my first appointment with Michelle, my acupuncturist, on Wednesday. Feeling a bit apprehensive – not about treatment itself, I always enjoyed that – just about future pregnancies in general.

I’ve conceived five times, and obviously I’ve only been able to carry Jonas to term. My pregnancy with him is the only time I received treatment from Michelle. So, it seems that the treatment worked for me, but of course, we can’t know for sure at this point, having had only one success. I like to think that TCM is what allowed me to have a successful pregnancy, and TCM does have a good track record treating infertility issues, but it could be that Jonas was just a healthy one, and he would have made it regardless.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I feel like this is a moment of truth. Next time I get pregnant, if I miscarry again despite treatment, it’s going to make it that much harder to keep going. Right now, I have hope that the acupuncture and herbs will protect the next pregnancy, but if that doesn’t turn out to be the case, how do we keep on going?

I truly believe that God will give us more children, but I’m not sure how much more we’ll have to endure before getting there. It’s been a hard journey, yet I see the ways the Lord has worked in our lives through our losses. Strange as it may sound, I wouldn’t trade this experience, despite the pain. And if there is more loss in store, I guess I can accept that if it means God working in our lives, refining our character and revealing himself in deeper ways. I don’t want to lose anymore babies; the breath catches in my throat at the thought, but what can we do, short of closing ourselves off from the possibility of more children. That would be a lack of faith and trust, and I don’t think I am willing to do that.

On a more positive note, if the next pregnancy is a success, that will give us all the more reason to have hope for future pregnancies with treatment.

I’m just trying not to think too much about it all right now.

 

One Response to “Back To The Acupuncturist”

  1. journeytocrunchville Says:

    Was wondering if you’d email me when you have a chance. Just wanted to ask you something that I’ve discovered about my own family’s health to see if it may be pertinent to you, especially considering all that you’ve gone through. I hope the acupuncture visit goes well.

    jessicareid823 at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

