Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Thankfulness November 14, 2008

Filed under: Pregnancy and Childbirth — katieosborne @ 2:55 am

This pregnancy has been rough on me so far. After days on end of just being so sick, I start to feel frustrated and almost despairing, like there is no hope of an end. I know of course that I can’t have more than a few weeks left of this – unless I’m one of the few unfortunates who is sick all nine months – but I can’t think about that and don’t believe that will be my fate. I feel like I should be more grateful, despite my troubles. After all, we’ve been through a lot, and this baby is a huge gift. And it’s not like I have a terminal illness or something! So, I think I need to take a few moments, stop feeling sorry for myself, and think about all the blessings God has given to me with this pregnancy.

  • This baby is a priceless gift from God, whom we will love indescribably.
  • These pains are all normal and healthy.
  • I have a patient and compassionate husband who has been so selfless in taking care of everything I can’t right now.
  • I have an awesome mom, willing to drive all the way up here every other week from Kenosha and take me to Madison for my acupuncture. I would not have made it through some of those hour long car rides without her.
  • Jonas has been taking it pretty easy on me – even sleeping through the night pretty often.
  • I have loving and concerned friends and family who have been diligently praying for us and doing thoughtful little acts of kindness here and there.
  • I’ve had a manageable babysitting schedule this fall, and a friend who is very gracious to help me out with Ella, when I’m really in the pits.
  • I should be feeling well in time to enjoy all the festivities of the Christmas season. That’s very important – especially with a two year old!
  • God is faithful and gives us more than we can desire for ourselves. I have been so tremendously blessed by this entire road he has led us down in our quest for a family.
  • I have comforts beyond what most women in this world and throughout history have had.  I have food to eat whenever I need to ward off the really bad ickiness. I have a soft and warm bed at night, and a comfy couch to lie on during the day. I do not have to do any strenuous work, and I’m able to rest when I need to. I have a modern toilet to puke in. LOL
  • I will soon get to experience the joys of all those little fluttery kicks…..and then of course those big rib assaulting kicks.
  • I have a competent and caring midwife who takes really good care of me.
  • Once I’m feeling better, I can get to work on making lots of little baby goodies….snuggly blankets, tiny shoes, appliquéd onesies, maybe a soft toy or two, and a few new carriers, of course. If only I’d get around to teaching myself how to knit….then I’d really go crazy with little hats and sweaters and booties. Not sure where I’d find the time, but it would be fun.

Yeah, I have it pretty good.

 

Leave a Reply

