Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Motrin Ad Attacks Babywearing November 18, 2008

Filed under: Parenting — katieosborne @ 9:16 pm
Tags:

Wow, Motrin. Can you get any more ignorant?

As a babywearer, I’m not going to go so far as to say I’m offended. That would be taking things a little too seriously. But, from my point of view, it sure seems like they are making fun of moms who choose to care for their babies this way, and the blatant falsehoods are rather irritating.

First of all, I do not babywear because it is trendy or fashionable. Heck, when I discovered it before Jonas was born, I had never even heard of this practice, but it immediately made sense to me. I chose to parent in this way because of the obvious benefits for both him and me.

Worn babies do cry less and it does promote bonding and attachment. It’s also been proven to be good for babies’ mental, emotional  and even physical development. It allows parents to get chores done while caring for their little one, and when out in public, it keeps baby safe and comfortable.

As for the supposed pain, I’ve never experienced it, and I can still carry a 28 lb. toddler on my back for two hour long hikes, and probably longer, without a hint of discomfort – or at least I could before all the early pregnancy ickiness. I’ve never tried a Snuggly or a Bjorn, but sure, if that is the only experience one has had, I can imagine that would cause neck, back and shoulder pain because the kid is hanging from your shoulders and the carrier provides the wearer with absolutely no back support. Slings, wraps and mei tais are designed in such a way that the baby is held to your body and his weight is well distributed across your shoulders, back and, in the case of a wrap or mei tai, your waist. I can honestly say, I have never had discomfort when wearing Jonas. Carrying him, on the other hand, is another story. That wears out my arms and back pretty quickly, and it did even when he was young. And those car seat buckets so many moms lug their baby around in? In my experience, that gives me back and shoulder pain!

Babywearing during Jonas’ high needs first year, didn’t make me crazy and didn’t make me want to cry as the ad says. It kept me sane. I’m really not sure who this ad was targeted for. Certainly not moms. If anything, they’ve probably just turned a whole lot of babywearing advocates off from their product.

 

Leave a Reply

