Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Sweet December 20, 2008

Filed under: Food — katieosborne @ 1:27 am

This is by far the most unhealthy food I’ve ever made. I don’t think I’ve ever bought corn syrup before in my life, and I’m not going to tell you how much sugar the recipe calls for. But it’s Christmas, and this was fun. Thanks to the inspiring and creative Sandi Henderson, I made homemade peppermint marshmallows, something I never would have thought of on my own.

Here’s the basic recipe. I crushed up twelve candy canes in the food processor and added a cup in place of one of the cups of sugar, and I mixed the leftover tablespoon of ground candy with powdered sugar to roll the marshmallows in. I must say, I’m pleased with the results. The candy canes I used had really thin red stripes, and it added just enough color to make them a soft pink. The main reason I decided to try out the recipe is because my grandma loves those chocolate covered marshmallows you get at Easter time. So, I dipped a lot of them in milk chocolate, and filled a little Christmas tin for her.

(I suggest putting the marshmallows in the freezer for a few minutes before dipping, so they don’t get gooey).

PC190008

 

One Response to “Sweet”

  1. mcauliflower Says:

    chocolate covered! Excellent. glad that worked out- some people have a difficult time covering their marshmallows.

    cheers


Leave a Reply

