Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Around The Sewing Room May 11, 2009

Filed under: Pregnancy and Childbirth,Sewing and Crafts — katieosborne @ 5:16 pm

The countdown has begun. Baby is due to arrive in ten days – so anytime this month, really. In between the unpacking and cleaning, I’ve been spending a lot of time in the sewing room over the past couple weeks, crafting for baby.

My big project has been diapers. I have six done, three more cut, and if I have time, I’ll make three more for an even dozen, bringing our diaper total to two dozen – enough to get through a solid two days. I will be borrowing a friend’s snap press, so at this point they’re not complete, but the sewing is done on these. Can I say, I haven’t been enjoying working with knits so much. I’m used to wovens, and knits are tricky, but I’m getting better.

P5090004

 

I made a couple sheets backed with PUL (a waterproof fabric), for laying Baby on in bed. Something fast and simple to whip up in between diapers.

 

P5090001 

I also made a couple new slings – one ring sling and one pouch. I have fabric cut for a couple more, but I doubt I’ll get to them before Baby’s arrival.

 

P5090007

 

 P5090008

 

Here’s a diaper bag I started a couple months ago. I have to undo something, which often means I lose interest. I know – where is my perseverance? I suppose if I was more excited to finish it, I would have by now, but as it is coming together, I am feeling like it is going to be too big for my everyday bag, though I’m sure it will be perfect for day-long trips. It is the Everything Bag, from Amy Butler’s Little Stitches book. I will get it finished at some point, but I’ve also cut fabric for Anna Maria Horner’s Multi-Tasker Tote, which is not a diaper bag, but I think it will work well as one. It is pretty good size, and I don’t tend to haul tons of stuff, so we’ll see how it turns out.

 

P5090009

And a little knitting….I’ve been teaching myself, and these are my first projects: a wool sleep sack and matching hat, and a wool diaper cover that is about half done. They’re not perfect, but they’ll do, and I’m getting better.  I have a few skeins of beautiful yarn I bought with some birthday money, and I’m really looking forward to using it once I’m a little more accomplished.

 

P5090005

 

One Response to “Around The Sewing Room”

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.


Leave a Reply

