Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Delicious Pumpkin Cake Recipe October 27, 2009

Filed under: Food — katieosborne @ 8:20 am
Tags:

The last of the season’s zucchini has been used up, so I’ve been baking with pumpkin around here this month. Ben remarks that I am the most seasonal eater he knows. I just think there are certain foods and drinks that taste best at certain times of the year. And I like to eat what is freshest too, although I have to admit to using canned pumpkin. It is the only vegetable that I prefer canned.

So, I want to share a very yummy recipe I started tweaking last year. I’ve made it once so far this fall, and we ate off of it for a week. I keep craving more, but so far have been resisting. Maybe this weekend.

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup coconut oil (or oil of your choice)

3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (cinnamon works great)

1 3/4 cups Rapadura (You can substitute white sugar, but the whole cane imparts more richness of flavor which works really well in this recipe)

1 CAN of pumpkin (smaller size)

4 eggs

1t vanilla extract

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup unbleached white flour

3 t baking powder

2t baking soda

1/4 t salt

2.5 t cinnamon

1 t nutmeg

walnuts and chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a sheet pan.

Sift dry ingredients.

Beat sugar, applesauce and oil. Add pumpkin and vanilla, and then add eggs one at a time.

Slowly add the dry ingredient mixture.

Pour into pan.

Cover the top with a generous amount of nuts and chocolate chips and sprinkle with about a tablespoon of white sugar.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Ooh, I don’t know if I can wait until the weekend now!

 

Leave a Reply

