Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Sappy, Nationalistic Tripe December 4, 2009

Filed under: Politics — katieosborne @ 2:35 pm
Tags:

How’s that for a title?

Yesterday, I saw a portrait of a woman dressed in uniform, holding her two year old son in her lap, and smiling gently off into the side lighting. The caption read, “ I may have to give my life for my country, but you will always hold my heart.”

Are you kidding me?

Now, most of you know that I am adamantly opposed to our country’s current wars, but that aside, I think I still would have been hit with the same revulsion. Call me old fashioned, but when a woman has children, she does not have the right to travel far away from them and put herself in perilous situations. Her duty is to those children, not to the State. Would any woman honestly believe that her kids would be okay with her being gone for months or years at a time, and maybe not coming home at all, instead of fulfilling her obligation to nurture and teach them?

War is a destroyer of families. I don’t understand why any mother (or father with young children) would put themselves in such a position.

 

Leave a Reply

