Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Bad Guys January 25, 2010

Filed under: Family Life — katieosborne @ 9:42 pm
Tags:

I was helping Jonas put fresh sheets on his bed tonight. There is a particular order that he likes his pillows.

And I commented, “yes, I know you like to sleep on the blue and green Thomas (the Tank Engine) pillow.”

He replied, “yes, and it has to go right there, (closer to the wall, farther from the door), so I’m farther away if any bad guys come.”

(Oh, my heart).

“Is that something you worry about?” I ask.

“Yeah,” he says, wrinkling his nose and looking down.

I hug him hard. “You don’t need to worry about that.” I explain that we have locks on our doors, and we live in a safe neighborhood where bad guys don’t go, and we have guns to protect ourselves just in case a bad guy would ever want to get in.

But all the while I’m assuring him, I wonder if I’m saying the right things. Does he feel safe? Does he trust what I’m saying? Will this put an end to those thoughts? And I just imagine him, at times when this goes through his mind, probably alone, and worried, and maybe a little scared, and I don’t even realize that he’s dealing with these big feelings. I hug him closer, wanting him to know how much I love him. And I want to tell him to come back to our room, where he slept until nine months ago, but I refrain.

All I want to do is keep him safe and protected, and I know that truly, I can’t even promise that, though it is what I want more than anything. And so, I feel a little guilty telling him that no bad guys will get in, yet what else can I say?

I don’t like feeling that helplessness, and it makes me want to pull my wings more firmly around him, but what more can I do, really? The world is not a safe place, and I will not always be able to protect him as I’d like.

I am so grateful to know, to the core of my being, that God is sovereign. That’s not a cop out, just the truth. I don’t know what will happen to my children in this life, and it scares me to consider the possibilities, but it is a comfort to know that we have a Heavenly Father who loves us and has a plan for our lives. As a mother, that is what I must hold onto and teach my children.

 

3 Responses to “Bad Guys”

  1. lisa Says:

    How difficult that is! I remember feeling scared as a kid but how different it is now to be the parent standing at the bedside. I will pray for little Jonas. When my littles are scared I try to emphasize to them how big and powerful God is and how much He loves them, how He is always with them and they can pray to him.

    Are you familiar with the Heidelberg Catechism? Question 1 goes like this: “What is your only comfort, in life and in death? That I belong – body and soul, in life and in death – not to myself but to my faithful Savior Jesus Christ, who at the cost of his own blood has fully paid for all my sins and has completely freed me from teh dominion of the devil; THAT HE PROTECTS ME SO WELL THAT WITHOUT THE WILL OF MY FATHER IN HEAVEN NOT A HAIR CAN FALL FROM MY HEAD; indeed that everything must fit his purpose for my salvation. Therefore, by his Holy Spirit, he also assures me of eternal life, and makes me wholeheartedly willing and ready from now on to live for him.”

    • katieosborne Says:

      Thank you, Lisa. I am not familiar with the HC, but I LOVE that, and we will have to commit it to memory here.

      As I was blogging about this last night, I felt disappointed that I missed such a great opportunity to talk about God’s sovereignty with him. I was in such a hurry to communicate our physical, earthly safety, that I dropped the ball.

      We have been using a kids devotion book called “Big Truths For Little Kids,” and it incorporates the shorter catechism, so this morning, as I was asking him the questions, I did have the opportunity to return to our conversation last night as we discussed a couple of the questions.

  2. milkywaynews Says:

    I’m not going to say that praying isn’t a good practice Katieosborne, because there’s a purity about praying that words will never describe. I will say that many have prayed for deliverance only to be over-taken by the very evil they wanted their God to remove. To be able to see God in the good and the bad is wisdom, if your little one learns that, he will never have fear or hate in his heart.


Leave a Reply

