Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Sewing For summer: Dresses for Bridget March 18, 2010

100_4832

Here’s the first of Bridget’s summer wardrobe. She’s been wearing them with a shirt under for now. The top and bottom are Petal Knot dresses from Sandi Henderson’s Claire pattern. And I say the knots are ingenious – perfect for adjusting the dress as she grows. The blue and green dress is made from Sandi’s Farmer’s 100_4707Market fabric, and the top is voile from Anna Maria Horner’s newest line, Little Folks. The fabric is just gorgeous. I have about 10 more yards on my shelf; it’s what I spent my Christmas money on. It will make beautiful blouses too. I just can’t wait to use more of it.  The middle dress is modified from a pattern in Amy Butler’s Little Stitches book, and the fabric is Joel Dewberry. I have been itching to sew more dresses; they are just so sweet, but I have a mei tai that I need to get finished for someone before I do anymore family sewing. 

And a note on the voile: because it’s a much lighter fabric, I added a layer of muslin between the straps. Without it, I’d imagine they’d be way too thin. As is, they are still thinner than the dress made with quilting cotton, and they lay really nicely.

Oh, and the babe decided to start walking last week. All of a sudden she took about ten steps across the room before dropping to the ground. Since then, she’s been practicing every day. I love those halting little steps and huge, amazed smile.

 

Leave a Reply

