Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

WIP: Saturday Market Skirt March 23, 2010

Filed under: Sewing and Crafts — katieosborne @ 11:16 am
Tags: ,

My heart skipped a beat when I visited Sandi Henderson’s blog last week and saw this. She has very generously made available a skirt 100_4851pattern from her soon to be released book Sewing Bits and Pieces.  Such a perfectly bohemian summer skirt. I have a few similar skirts hanging in my closet from my college days, but they’re so long, I’m always tripping on them and they’re a bit big on me. So, they get a few weeks of use after I have a baby, and that is about it.

I am so excited about this skirt! I’ve been rummaging through my scrap bag and my shelves. Nevermind all the other projects cut out and waiting to be sewn. This has overtaken my imagination! Still cutting, but can’t wait to start piecing this together! Oh, I hope it turns out well!

My inspiration started with the batik print on the bottom right. I made a mei tai from it to sell a couple years ago, and I love it so, but just didn’t know what to use it for. It has now found it’s home. The colors of the skirt are not ones I’d typically choose for myself to wear – the fuschia-ish purple is brighter than what I would normally go for – but the more I cut, the more I think it’s going to work. Here’s hoping.

Oh, and she has instructions for child size skirts too, so Bridget may be running around the yard in her own before the summer is through!

100_4855

 

Leave a Reply

