Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Christmas Crafting Inspiration November 10, 2010

Filed under: Sewing and Crafts — katieosborne @ 9:19 pm
Tags:

100_6678Yes, despite two months of silence, I am in fact still here. In recent days, I’ve been scouring the internet and pouring over crafty flickr pools for inspiration to beautify my home for the holidays, and I thought I’d share some of my finds here.

I’m happy to say that I completed project number one this afternoon. Instructions for this lovely fabric wreath can be found at Piccadilly Peddlers. The whole project took about three hours, and honestly, if you can trace a measuring cup and wield a hot glue gun without burning yourself too badly, you can do this. And what’s more, you can do this with your kids, even toddlers. Jonas had a great time stacking up the pieces of fabric for me to put the brads through, and later choosing the pieces to hand me as I was gluing them onto the wreath.

Next up for me is felt and fabric ornament making. I’ve long felt that our home at Christmas lacks a cohesive theme to pull things together. It’s a mish mash of little things collected over the years from here and there – or given as hand-me-downs from my mom – and I’ve just never been completely pleased with how our home looks over the holidays, yet I haven’t been willing to shell out a lot of money for a makeover. So, this year I am attempting to make a lot of little things, that will hopefully bring it all together a little better. I think color is key, and I’ve always been drawn to the combination of red, turquoise and white. So, I’ve got some felt, fabric, ribbon, ric rac, buttons, embroidery floss, etc. in these colors, with a little light pink thrown in. They will soon become ornaments for the tree and beyond.

If you are looking for ornament inspiration, take a look at the following links:

Saidos da Concha’s how to on making felt ornaments

Birds of a Feather Felt Ornament

Felt Gingerbread House Ornament

Felt Bird Garland

Pine Cone Elves

There are lots of other things on my creative list including a few gifts for the kids, garlands, and mod podge blocks with festive sayings that I’ll share in the coming weeks.

Happy Christmas crafting!

 

One Response to “Christmas Crafting Inspiration”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    This is gorgeous! I might give it a try. I’m sure my girls would love to tackle such a project. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

