Simple Bounty

Finding Beauty, Grace and Sanity in a Busy World

Christmas Banner November 16, 2010

Filed under: Sewing and Crafts — katieosborne @ 2:07 pm
Tags:

100_6707 (2)

I got the basic idea for our Christmas banner from Life in Grace. I liked the casual look of her raw edges, and hey, not having to sew around each flag means less work for me. So, if you want to do something similar, take a look at her instructions, or follow what I did:100_6709

I used canvas for the flags and cut each piece 7.5 x 11.

Next, I drew a simple tree silhouette, traced the outline onto my fabric pieces, cut each, and then fused them to the canvas with Steam a Seam.

Then I stitched around each tree with a straight stitch for added interest.

I have 3” tall cardboard letters I found in the scrapbook section of the craft store. I traced the letters onto felt, cut them out, and glued them onto the trees with felt glue.

After that, I folded the top of the canvas under one inch at the top and sewed a channel for the ribbon to run through.

I was lucky to find these fabric covered brads on clearance a couple weeks ago. Aren’t they cute? I didn’t know what I would use them for at the time, but for $2.50, I couldn’t pass up buying the last package. And there was just the right amount to top our trees! You could also sew buttons on if you don’t have any decorative brads.

Last, just pin a safety pin to one end of your ribbon, and string it through the channels, and it’s ready to be hung up!

 

One Response to “Christmas Banner”


Leave a Reply

